////

AN ALBUM EVERY DAY – SIXTH EDITION

Monday, February 14, 2022

VALENTINE (2021) 😊 – Snail Mail 

Rating: 7.8/10 

Favorite song(s): “Ben Franklin” 

Favorite lyric: “Woke up without why or how” – “c.et al.”

This album lacks any complexity or depth; it’s just sad. Where other sad-girl indie-pop artists like Phoebe Bridgers or Clairo have distinct sounds, VALENTINE has no trademark. 

Tuesday, February 15, 2022

HANADRIEL (2019) 😊 –  HANA  

Rating: 7.6/10 

Favorite song(s): “Nu Leaf” and “Satellite” 

Favorite lyric: “I don’t really wanna think tonight / I just wanna be up ’til light” – “ORCA”

Most of the tracks on HANADRIEL are achingly long and slow, making the album as a whole a bore to sit through. However, certain tracks like “Nu Leaf” and “ORCA” have an engaging beat, and I loved the synth-pop, futuristic aesthetic of the album. 

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

ANIMAL (EXPANDED EDITION) (2010) 🤩 – Kesha  

Rating: 9.0/10 

Favorite song(s): “Take It Off” and “TikTok” and “Dinosaur”

Favorite lyric: “You’re just an old man / Hittin’ on me, what? / You need a CAT scan!” – “Dinosaur” and “’Cause you’re my object of affection / My drug of choice, my sick obsession / I want to keep you as my pet / To play with and hide under my bed forever” – “Stephen”

ANIMAL is the best party album of the 2000s. Period. Each song has character and personality and with songs like “Stephen” and “Party At A Rich Dude’s House,” Kesha teaches us to be unapologetically psychotic. 

Thursday, February 17, 2022

PATCHED UP (2021) 😊 – beabadoobee 

Rating: 7.0/10

Favorite song(s): “Everest” 

Favorite lyric: “’’Cause even if your eyes are black / Your bones are always gold / ’Cause it’s climbed up every mountain / That no story’s ever told” – “Everest”

PATCHED UP feels like a combination of Billie Eilish’s DON’T SMILE AT ME, without the dynamic production, and Clairo’s IMMUNITY, without the deep-cutting lyricism. It sounds like every other indie-pop album ever made. 

Friday, February 18, 2022

BATTLE LINES (2018) 😊 – Bob Moses 

Rating: 8.0/10 

Favorite song(s): “Heaven Only Knows” 

Favorite lyric: “Sacrificed all your life / Heads hang heavy when there’s blood on the line / It’s justified, don’t ask why / ‘Cause Heaven only knows” – “Heaven Only Knows” 

BATTLE LINES sounds like the love-child of Imagine Dragons and the XX. Do with that as you will. 

Saturday, February 19, 2022

CHILD’S PLAY (2021) 😊 – Alice Phoebe Lou  

Rating: 7.8/10 

Favorite song(s): “Underworld” and “Silly”

Favorite lyrics: “Communicate like trees / Way down under the ground / Where we’ve got so much going on / Like a whole other hidden universe” – “Underworld”

CHILD’S PLAY is so unexciting, it belongs on an “afternoon nap” playlist. 

Sunday, February 20, 2022

SLUT POP (2022) 🤩 – Kim Petras

Rating: 8.5/10 

Favorite song(s):  “Slut Pop” and “Throat Goat

Favorite lyric(s): “These lips go “la-la-la” / This throat, Lady Gaga / Boys say “Hallelujah” / Give me that ya-ya-ya-ya, yeah” – “Throat Goat”

SLUT POP is a power move. Kim Petras shows us that no matter what she sings, we will listen. The album is powerfully shameless and is a refreshing break from the other bleak and blasé albums of this week. What it lacks in songwriting complexity, it makes for with pure spunk. 

Tavish Mohanti

Tavish Mohanti is a student at UCLA passionate about food, film, and journalism who hopes to one day write comedy like Taika Waititi. His mutts are the loves of my life.

Latest from Tavish Mohanti