Illustrated by Tavish Mohanti

Welcome to “An Album Every Day.” Every day, I listen to an album I’ve never heard before, and every week, I post a round-up of my thoughts and highlights. Read on for the second edition of “An Album Every Day!”

Monday, January 17, 2022

DREAMING OF DAVID (2020) 😊 – Ryan Beatty

Rating: 6.2/10 

Favorite song(s): “In The End” and “Patchwork”

Favorite lyric: “There’s a man out there on the floor / Watchin’ me lose myself to disco music” – “Patchwork”

DREAMING OF DAVID fails to stay engaging, even with Ryan Beatty’s angelic voice and achingly poignant songwriting. The stylization of the album is similar to FRIENDS THAT BREAK YOUR HEART, but it doesn’t establish the same ambiance or atmosphere. The production feels one-dimensional, and for certain songs, like “Dreaming of David,” there is a dissonance that feels uncharacteristic and even obnoxious. 

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

CAPRISONGS (2022) 🤩 – FKA twigs 

Rating: 8.9/10 

Favorite song(s): “meta angel” 

Favorite lyric: “Saggi Moon, Pisce Ven, Capri Sun” – “metal angel”

CAPRISONGS is a psychedelic experience; it feels as if you are floating through another dimension of music and rhythm. The samples at the beginning of songs like “meta angel” and “honda” elevate the album and make it a captivating listen. The production is over-the-top but, at the same time, just enough; it perfectly compliments FKA twigs’ gorgeous raspy vocals. 

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

THE DIVINE FEMININE (2016) 😊 – Mac Miller 

Rating: 8.1/10 

Favorite song(s): “Dang!” 

Favorite lyric: “Yeah, I think I’m stuck inside nostalgia” – “Planet God Damn”

THE DIVINE FEMININE is a divine mix of smooth beats, soothing harmonies, and charming lyricism. Mac Miller’s voice is soft and comforting, and you could listen to him all day. Plus, the sample at the end of “God Is Fair, Sexy Nasty” is the cutest story you will ever hear. 

Thursday, January 20, 2022

MOTH (2016) 🤩 –  Chairlift 

Rating: 9.2/10

Favorite song(s): “Crying in Public”

Favorite lyric: “Like the peach you split open with two thumbs / I’m not half without a stone” – “Crying in Public”

MOTH has it all: Caroline Polachek’s sweet and sultry voice, spell-bounding production that drips with emotion, and lyrics that are pure poetry. 

Friday, January 21, 2022

BANGERZ (DELUXE VERSION) (2013) 🤩 – Miley Cyrus 

Rating: 9.1/10 

Favorite song(s): “Adore You” and “Rooting for My Baby”

Favorite lyric: “We clawed, we chained our hearts in vain” – “Wrecking Ball” 

It’s unfortunate this album was mired in controversy because it is an amazing compilation of painful ballads like “Adore You,” sultry bops like “#GETITRIGHT,” and absolute bangers like “SMS (Bangerz). Miley Cyrus proves she can do it all, and despite the horrendous “Stand By Me” cover, “My Darlin’,” this album is still iconic.  

Saturday, January 22, 2022

THE GODS WE CAN TOUCH (2022) 🤩 – AURORA

Rating: 9.8/10 

Favorite song(s): “Everything Matters” and “Cure For Me”

Favorite lyrics: “You’re a part of the dawn where the light comes from the dark” – “Everything Matters” and “I don’t a cure for me” – “Cure For Me”

With AURORA’s enchanting voice, imagery-laden songwriting, and evocative melodies, THE GODS WE CAN TOUCH is evidence that AURORA is, in fact, a god we can touch. 

Sunday, January 23, 2022

SOULED OUT (DELUXE) (2014) 😊 – Jhené Aiko 

Rating: 7.0/10 

Favorite song(s):  None

Favorite lyric(s): “At forty-four minutes to four / An angel walked up to my door / Opened the windows to my soul / Told me he thinks that I should know” – “W.A.Y.S”

SOULED OUT is a meditative experience with dream-like instrumentals and Jhené Aiko’s calming voice; that said, none of the songs were particularly memorable, and picking a favorite song was like picking a favorite Telly Tubby — they all seem the same.

Tavish Mohanti

Tavish Mohanti is a student at UCLA passionate about food, film, and journalism who hopes to one day write comedy like Taika Waititi. His mutts are the loves of my life.

Latest from Tavish Mohanti